Conversation: Concrete Jungle Fever

I think I’ve finally came up with a pithy answer to a query that has been broached innumerable times during this crazy sojourn of mine here in Berlin, Germany. This is solely based on my own personal experience.

This conversation comes from a quite infamous online gay dating website:

HIM:

which city in the world would you recommend to live in for white men who mostly only love black men?

ME:

My first reaction is to scold you about this being totally offensive to me and “my people” but let’s face it: I’m not in Berlin just for the rich cultural history and the cheap rents.

I’m sure you know that Paris has a handful of French and/or African decent blacks that can actually live an out of the closet life there (despite the current overtones of sociopolitical crisis involving homophobia). If it is a hybrid American version you crave, try Atlanta – though honestly, they tend to stick to their own kind there. You’re more likely to get lucky in New York, but who can afford that!? The town where I am from, Philadelphia, is actually a hotbed of interracial dating (far too competitive for me hence my arrival in fair Germany). Miami is boiling over with local color so to speak; there are tremendously beautiful people of various ethnic backgrounds there. The problem there is that there aren’t many jobs and it’s a transient town. That’s all my acumen I can afford you. My only advice is don’t go to Russia!

Buena Suerte!

DeVaughn

Leave a Reply

