Fringe Festival Blog – Part 9

It’s all happening!

I’ve really made a wonderful connection with the owner of the studio where I’ve been rehearsing for Viva Burlesque! She is an amazing person and has a great soul. She has also been instrumental in stabilizing my sanity. The studio is literally a block away from my apartment, it has a great vibe, a good floor, awesome mirrors and a sound system. It was sweet the way she asked me very matter-of-factly if the studio was going to be the new home of my dance company. She told me that us being there has really boosted her energy and the energy of the space and she’s glad we came along. She also offered to host my fringe show, a huge relief now that the deadline has passed. The space is a bit small for an audience, but I think if I configure it just right, it will work. The only thing is, I know we will have a lot of onlookers from South Street, so that should be interesting.

I am totally confident in what Viva Burlesque! will be. I have all of the choreography done so my rehearsals this week are dedicated to re-running the numbers as much as possible, in costumes (I’ve seen way too many wardrobe malfunctions, long before Mrs. Jackson’s fame). I had a few hiccups last week, primarily the factor of production week where I turn from teddy bear to super bitch and everything has to be better than PERFECT. I send nasty emails to my cast, I snap at innocent bystanders, I make my dancers feel fat and small (yes, this is possible), and I have been known to smoke more cigarettes than humanly possible. It’s all a part of the business we call “show” and it is worth every aching minute.

All I have left on the production end is trying to get the pre-show reception together. I’ve got some sweet raffle prizes lined up and I hope I get a booze sponsor to get folks tipsy before viewing. I am working on the program later and I have some props to make (a beehive, how? I don’t know) and I have some painstaking bead work to do on one of the costumes, along with some other finishing work. Should be a very long three days, then it’s off to the big show!

Leave a Reply

