Fringe Festival Blog – Part 3

I finished the auditions two weeks ago?

Not only was it a busy time putting all the materials together for the audition and posting blasts all over the place and on the internet, it was also the busiest week of the year here at my day job. That of course was topped off with the opening of the alfresco dining at my part time job, thus leaving me with more shifts at the restaurant and less time to get my shit done.

I was ridiculously impressed with the turnout and there were several people who could not make it to the audition. Unfortunately I can’t use everybody. For one, I want to make sure people get a worthwhile salary, secondly, there are really good dancers that don’t necessary fit into the aesthetic I’m going for. I am biased towards the darker, uncanny girls with a kind of misunderstood personality, almost as if there is something really deep beyond the surface, more than they let on, and it all comes out in their dancing. One of the girls struck me quite hard and I knew that she was going to be my newest and most prolific muse, helping me produce a lot of material. I already have several ideas in mind thanks to her. I called her soon after the audition without delay and asked her to be a part of the show and she happily accepted.

It took me a while to choose the others because they all had very unique talents to offer both productions, the fringe show and the burlesque show I am doing for the GLBT festival. I have an official date for the latter, Thursday, June 10th. I have a 200 seat theater to fill so I’m looking forward to marketing the shit out of this shit.

I had a boy audition; that made me happy. I’ve seen him perform before, years ago, for the Koresh Youth Ensemble. He’s a great kid, about to graduate high school and go to UArts and there is no doubt in my mind he will be successful in the field.

I chose a couple more dancers than I had planned, and it is my hope that I’ll finally do one of those numbers where there are a lot of people on stage and all this madness is going on. I’m really looking forward to starting rehearsals, I am so inspired by the cast.

On a sad note, the venue where I have rehearsals and that I was going to use for the performance lost its lease so come May 30th, I will no longer be able to use that space. This infuriates me on so many levels. It was a huge part of my concept for this piece almost to the point where it was site-specific, but I have faith that I will find somewhere else. For me, location is extremely important and I want to make sure that the other factors I need to take into consideration match up to my needs for the performance. I’d rather not have it in a generic theater, fringe is all about cutting edge work done in obscure venues, but I am sure reality will set in and I will have to grin and bear it because I haven’t much choice right now. I know that the expense will at least double now, the studio was one of the most affordable in town and so conveniently located. I’m sure it’s just Mercury Retrograde playing tricks on me and I am very much up to the challenge.

I have added/cut down the list to 10 songs. I am also regurgitating some choreography that inspired the whole idea of “Man Bites Dog” in the first place. So far the new list is as follows:

Androgynous Mind – Sonic Youth
Shame & Fortune – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Polly – Nirvana
Turn Me On – Nina Simone
He Hit Me – Grizzly Bear
House of Jealous Lovers – The Rapture
Oasis Hotel – Tracy Bonham
Declare Independence – Bjork
People Are Strange – The Doors
Nadia’s Theme – From “The Young & The Restless”

Leave a Reply

